J.C Bose National Fellow
Chief Mentor
Open Source Drug Discovery 
Academy Professor
Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research
Scientist and Founder Director
CSIR- Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology
 Former Director General
Council of Scientific and Industrial Research

1972Bachelor of Science in Chemistry (Hons), University of Calcutta.
1974Master of Science in Chemistry (Specialisation, Physical Chemistry), University of Calcutta.
1978PhD, Molecular Biophysics Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
1978-1979Post Doctoral Research, French Govt. Fellowship, Institute de Recherche en Biologie Moleculaire, CNRS, University of Paris VIII.
1979-1981Research Associate, Molecular Biophysics Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
1981-1997Lecturer / Assistant / Associate Professor, Molecular Biophysics Unit and Associated Faculty, Centre for Genetic Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
1997-2001Professor, Molecular Biophysics Unit, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
1997-2007Director, CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi.
2003Adjunct Professor, Bioinformatics Centre, University of Pune, Pune.
2007-2013Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi.
2013-Academy Professor, Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research (AcSIR), New Delhi.

Chairman, West Bengal Education Commission.

Visiting Scientist
Nov 1979Department of Biochemistry, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada.
Jun-Sep 1985Department of Genetics and Development, Columbia University New York, USA.
Visiting Professorship
May-Jun 1997Max Planck Institute of Biophysical Chemistry, Goettingen, Germany.
1998-2004B.R Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research, University of Delhi, Delhi.
2012Joseph Austin McCartney & Ruth McCartney Hauck Named Visiting Professorship, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, USA
Lifetime Honorary Professorship, Delhi University
Distinguished Honorary Professor, Dept of Biological Sciences & Bio-Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur.
2016Distinguished Honorary Professor, Dept of Regenerative Medicine and Translational Science, School of Tropical Medicine, Kolkata
Honours & Awards
1968National Science Talent Search Scholarship, NCERT India.
1979Young scientist medal, Indian National Science Academy.
1981Kani medal, National Cancer Research Centre, Tokyo, Japan.
1990Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Biological Sciences, CSIR, India.
1998C. R. Krishnamurthy Oration Award, Society of Biological Chemists, India.
1999FICCI Award 1998-99 in recognition of individual initiative in Life Sciences including Agriculture, Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry.
2000Millennium Medal, Indian Science Congress.
2002Ranbaxy Research Award for the year 2001 in the field of “Medical Science – Medical Research”, Ranbaxy Science Foundation.
2003Goyal Prize 2001; Life Sciences, Kurukshetra University. 
2004Prof. P.K. Bose Memorial Award, Indian Chemical Society.
2005Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Centenary Award for Excellence in Biomedical Research, Indian Council of Medical Research.
2007H. K. Firodia Awards For Excellence In Science and Technology, H.K. Firodia Memorial Foundation.
2007Padma Bhushan Dr. R.A.Mashelkar Medal, Asian Paints.
20082005 VASVIK Award for Biological S&T, Vividhlaxi Audyogik Samshodhan Vikas Kendra.
20086th Biospectrum person of the year-2008, Biospectrum.
2008Distinguished Alumni IISc, Alumni Association, Indian Institute of Science.
2009SS Bhatnagar Memorial Award and Gold Medal, Indian Science Congress.
2009The Jagadis Chandra Bose Medal 2007, Indian National Science Academy.
20092008 Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award for S&T (Biotechnology), Shri O. P. B.Foundation for S&T.
2009D.Sc. (Honoris causa), Vidyasagar University, India.
2010D.Sc. (Honoris causa), Kalyani University, India.
2011D.Sc. (Honoris causa), National Institute of Technology, Silchar, India.
2012D.Sc. (Honoris causa), Amity University, Jaipur, India.
2012J.C Bose National Fellowship Award, DST, India
2012Bharat AsmitaVigyanTantragyaanShreshtha Award, Maharashtra Institute of Technology, India 
2013D.Sc. (Honoriscausa), Bastar University, Jagdalpur (Chhatisgarh), India
2013Banga Bibhushan Award (Highest Civilian Award), Govt. of West Bengal, India
2015Nihil Ultra Award of Excellence, St. Xavier's College, Kolkata

Fellowships / Membership of Academic Bodies
1991Fellowship of the Indian Academy of Sciences.
1991Elected member Human Genome Organization (HUGO).
1995Fellowship of the Indian National Science Academy.
2000Fellowship of the National Academy of Sciences.
2004- 2011Council Member, Human Genome Organization (HUGO).
2006- 2013Advisory Board member for Archon-X prize for genomics, X-Prize foundation, USA.
2010Fellowship of Indian National Academy of Engineering.
2010- 2014Member, National Innovation Council, Government of India.
2012- 2015Scientific Advisory Board Member of the U.S National Center for Biomedical Ontology (NCBO), Stanford University.
Advisory Board Member of United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
Fellowship of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)
Member, International Scientific Advisory Board, Centre for Research and 
Interdisciplinary (CRI), University Paris V, Paris.
Fellowship of The European Society of Preventive Medicine.

Editorial Work/International Responsibilities (Selected List)
Regional Editor (South Asian Countries) Journal Genomic Medicine, 2006 onwards.
Council Editor, The HUGO Journal, 2010-Present.
PLoS ONE Academic Editor 2008 - 2010.
Member of the Board of Advisors of Journal of Biomolecular Structure and Dynamics (JBSD), 2010.
Member, FAOBMB council, 1995-2004. 
Member of India-European Commission S&T Steering Committee responsible for Genomics & Biotechnology for Health 2003-2007. 
Member, Planning Group of the Human Variome Project Melbourne, Australia, 2006. 
Chairman, 13th International Human Genome Meeting (HUGO), 2008, India. 
Member and Area Coordinator, INDO-RUSSIA ILTP Joint Council, 2003 – 2009. 
Member of the international Advisory Panel on Biotechnology Development (BIO-IAP) of Malaysia for the period 2009-2011. 
Section Editor of Medical Bioinformatics Section of Journal of Translational Medicine, 2012- till date. 
 Member, HUGO International Journal Editorial Board, 2013- till date.

Member, Human Genetics Editorial Board, 2013- till date.
Executive Editor Progress in Preventive Medicine, 2016.