News Updates‎ > ‎

Prof. Samir Brahmachari Honoured with the Banga Bibhushan award

posted May 27, 2013, 11:37 PM by Nitin Gupta   [ updated Oct 29, 2013, 3:05 AM ]

20th May 2013: Prof. Samir K. Brahmachari, Director General , CSIR has been honoured with the  prestigious Banga Bibhushan award by the Government of West Bengal in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of Life Sciences . Banga Bibhushan - the highest honour conferred by the Government of West Bengal is the title that has been instituted to honour the services of personalities in various fields. Prof. Brahmachari was conferred the title in the award ceremony organized at Science City, West Bengal on 20th May 2013 by Chief Minister Smt Mamta Banerjee in presence of Hon'ble Governor Shri M. K Narayanan . Other prominent personalities to receive the Banga Bibhushan Award for this year include Shri Saurav Ganguly (Former Cricketer), Shri Rituporno Ghosh (Director), Shri Mithun Chakravarty (Actor), Shri B.K. Birla (Industrialist), Shri P.K. Banerjee (Padma Shree Award winner Footballer), Shri Purnadas Baul (musician and singer of the Baul tradition) and many more.